Metaphors

574

Yesterday, it was foggy but outright fun at the beach.  Throughout our thus-far two-week journey, we have gathered from the Goodwill second hand shops – two bikes and a scooter plus a skateboard from a big chain store.  We were each equipped with a vehicle to enjoy the lengthy beach paths.  Joshua switched from scooter to skateboard to bike so at one point I ended up with the scooter and never realized how hard and tiring it was.  We really ought to look for two more used bikes so that all four of us could be on bikes together.  The highlight of the day were tall mounds of powdery sand where Joshua and Jimmy slid and dove into like it was water.   Other boys joined in the revelry.

My friend offered to take us to a Mexican or Seafood restaurant but I said maybe my husband would enjoy the Chinese restaurant, at least for the variety it offers.  Both she and I knew the Chinese restaurant would not be good but I went ahead and consciously made the decision that proved to be wrong.  We should really make it a rule not to eat in Chinese restaurants in America especially if there are other choices.  And trust the local friend!

Did you ever make major decisions in your life that you regretted?  Did you ever make a choice with good intentions and watch it turn sour?  Were you ever trapped with a hand of cards that surely you couldn’t win?  But life’s beyond a card game because you could still play the hand you were dealt with and come out a winner no matter what.  Could you?

You jump and hope you land on soft sand.  If you don’t, something catches you that you’ll settle for.  Some say don’t settle.  Some say it could still be made to work.  What do you want when all you hear are other voices?  Which one is yours?  Which is the one you lost along the way to settling?

Along the beach, this creative DIY pick-up house trailer caught my eye. I put a picture of a regular trailer for contrast.  The owner of the hand-made one posted on the side of his home the surrender speech by Chief Joseph delivered in 1877.  Chief Joseph believed in peace and thought he could secure his homeland without fighting.

Tell General Howard I know his heart.  What he told me before I have in my heart.  I am tired of fighting.  Our chiefs are all killed.  Looking glass is dead.  Toohoolhoolzote is dead.  The old men are all dead.  It is the young men who say yes and no.  He who led on the young men is dead.  It is cold and we have no blankets. The little children are freezing to death.  Many people, some of them, have run away to the hills and have no blankets, no food; no one knows where they are – perhaps freezing to death.  I want to have time to look for my children and see how many I can find.  Maybe I shall find them among the dead.  Hear me, my chiefs.  I am tired; my heart is sick and sad.  From where the sun stands I will fight this war no more forever.

Is it possible to secure peace without fighting?   Do you win by sticking it out through the long haul?  Or do you win by dying?

There.  Is that loud enough for you to hear my voice?  You knew I always screamed in silence.  Nobody reads till the end.

596

And to Her Royal Highness, you’ll know how it goes when we get to New York.

 

 

Leave a Reply

